Energy Regulators Association of East Africa (EREA), Contact and Address

The Energy Regulators Association of East Africa (EREA) is a multilateral association of National Energy regulators of the East Africa Community (EAC) countries. It was established through a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) of 28th May 2008, requiring these National regulatory institutions to work together to promote Energy Union (Harmonization of energy regulatory frameworks, information sharing, and sustainable capacity building).
These entities include Energy and Water Utilities Regulatory Authority (EWURA) of Tanzania, Energy Petroleum Regulatory Authority (EPRA) of Kenya, Zanzibar Utility Regulatory Authority (ZURA) of Zanzibar, and Petroleum Authority of Uganda (PAU) of Uganda. Others include Electricity Regulatory Authority (ERA) of Uganda, Rwanda Utilities Regulatory Authority (RURA) of Rwanda and Autorité de Régulation des secteurs de l’Eau potable et de l’Energie (AREEN) of Burundi. The 8th meeting of the Sectoral Council on Energy ministers of the East African Community (EAC), held on 21st June 2013 officially established it as a forum of energy regulation in the EAC.
Founding members and registration
The founders of EREA, namely ERA, EPRA (formerly ERA), EWURA and RURA constituted and signed the EREA Constitution on 16th December 2013. The July 2014 Annual General Assembly of EREA unanimously passed a resolution for the United Republic of Tanzania to host the Headquarters. Subsequently, it was registered (Certificate Reg. No. S.A. 19870 issued on 8th December 2014) under the Societies Act, Cap 337 of the Laws of Tanzania by the Ministry of Home affairs. At that time, the Institution had not established a permanent Secretariat, but its offices resided at EWURA in Tanzania. It was later re-registered under Business Registrations and Licensing Agency (BRELA) on 23rd May 2019 into a company limited by guarantees and without share capital under the Companies Act, 2002, and the Memorandum of Association.